Category Archives: SFF Awards

2016 Saturn Award Nominees

The Academy of Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror Films has announced the 2016 nominees for the Saturn Awards.

Full list of nominations is here.

Star Wars: The Force Awakens” leads this year’s Saturn Awards nominations with 15. Its next closest competitors, “Mad Max: Fury Road” and “Crimson Peak,” are far behind with nine noms each.

Box office smash “Jurassic World” followed with seven nominations. The Marvel films “Ant-Man” and “Avengers: Age of Ultron” were up next, bringing in six and four nominations, respectively.

On the TV side, AMC stalwart “The Walking Dead” shambled off with seven nominations, while HBO’s “Game of Thrones” netted five. There was a four-way tie among “Daredevil,” “Hannibal,” “Supergirl” and “Wayward Pines,” each with four nominations.

The Saturn Awards — now in their 42nd year — are presented annually to films and television series by the Academy of Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror Films.

The award show is known for its eclectic groupings of films in unique categories. In the best action/adventure film category, Oscar favorite “The Revenant” will compete against Tom Cruise’s “Mission: Impossible – Rogue Nation” and the Melissa McCarthy comedy “Spy.” Meanwhile, “Kingsman: The Secret Service” leading man Taron Egerton will square off against Matt Damon and Leonardo DiCaprio for best actor.

This year’s Saturn Awards are adding a new category: best new-media television. The nominees include Netflix’s “Daredevil,” “Jessica Jones” and “Sense8”; Amazon’s “The Man in the High Castle” and “Bosch”; and PlayStation/Crackle’s “Powers.”

The award ceremony will take place in June in Burbank.


Sunburst & Copper Cylinder Awards

Sunburst Award is a juried award. The Copper Cylinder is the Sunburst’s readers’ choice award.

For additional information about the Sunburst Award—including nominees, jurors, previous winners, eligibility, and the selection process—please visit The Sunburst Award Committee website at

The_Back_of_the_Turtle_(King_novel)Winner of best adult novel is The Back of the Turtle by Thomas King (HarperCollins Publishers, 2014).

The Back of the Turtle is also the winner of the 2014 Governor General’s Literary Award for Fiction.

Also short listed:

  • The Troop by Nick Cutter (Simon and Shuster, 2014)
  • Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel (HarperCollins Publishers, 2014)
  • My Real Children by Jo Walton (Tor Books, 2014)
  • Will Starling by Ian Weir (Goose Lane Editions, 2014)

Tin StarWinner of best young adult is Tin Star by Cecil Castellucci (Roaring Brook Press, 2014).

Also Short listed:

  • The Night Gardener by Jonathan Auxier (Amulet Books, 2014)
  • A Breath of Frost by Alyxandra Harvey (Bloomsbury Press, 2014)
  • Sophie, in Shadow by Eileen Kernaghan (Thistledown Press, 2014)
  • The Door in the Mountain by Caitlin Sweet (ChiTeen, 2014)


Copper Cylinder Award

The Door in the MountainThe Back of the Turtle by Thomas King (HarperCollins Publishers, 2014), won the Copper Cylinder for best adult fiction.

The Door in the Mountain by Caitlin Sweet (ChiZine Publications, 2014), won for best YA fiction.


Vote for the Faned Awards!

It’s a real pleasure to see so many MonSFFen and MonSFFriends nominated for the Faned Award.

2015 FANED AWARDS BALLOT (for fanac in 2014)

To be presented at VCON 40 October 4th, 2015 by R. Graeme Cameron.

Anyone in the world who contributes to Canadian fanzines is eligible, and anyone in the world who reads Canadian fanzines may vote.

Learn more about the award here:

Please submit your vote by Sept 28th, 2015 to: R. Graeme Cameron

To vote: Please assign up to 6 (or fewer) numbers in order of preference as per example below:


Little Name Fan – 3

Big Name Fan – 2

Trufan – 1

Fugghead –Mundane – 6

Fringe fan – 4

Gafiated fan – 5

(Point system applied. 1st choice = 6 points, 2nd choice = 5 points, etc.)

At the bottom of the ballot please give your name and, if you think I may not know you, list your most prominent fanac so I can be sure you are a fan.

The Ballot is here:

Chesley Awards

The Chesleys are awarded to the best in SF/F art.  I was there, at Sasquan for the ceremony, but sadly many artists were not. More and more, the artists are choosing other ways to promote their work and are not showing at World Cons.

Beneath the SurfaceI’m still thinking about Julie Dillon’s  Shadows Beneath–Creepiest art I’ve ever seen. My first thought was: Yuck! Ugly!!  But it has that wow factor, too, a sense of the art having so much more meaning than just a picture.  Click the thumbnail, take a long look, and tell me what you think.

You can see the other winners’ works here:

And do take a moment to look at this year’s trophy, which is absolutely stunning.

2015 World Fantasy Awards Ballot

Snitched from the Locus site:

The World Fantasy Awards Ballot for works published in 2014 has been announced. The awards will be presented during the World Fantasy Convention, November 5-8, 2015 in Saratoga Springs NY. The Lifetime Achievement Awards, presented annually to individuals who have demonstrated outstanding service to the fantasy field, will go to Ramsey Campbell and Sheri S. Tepper, and were announced earlier this month.

The World Fantasy Awards finalists are:


  • The Goblin Emperor, Katherine Addison (Tor)
  • City of Stairs, Robert Jackson Bennett (Broadway; Jo Fletcher)
  • The Bone Clocks, David Mitchell (Random House; Sceptre)
  • Area X: The Southern Reach Trilogy, Jeff VanderMeer (Farrar, Straus & Giroux)
  • My Real Children, Jo Walton (Tor; Corsair)


  • We Are All Completely Fine, Daryl Gregory (Tachyon)
  • “Where the Trains Turn”, Pasi Ilmari Jääskeläinen ( 11/19/14)
  • “Hollywood North”, Michael Libling  (F&SF 11-12/14)
  • “The Mothers of Voorhisville”, Mary Rickert ( 4/30/14)
  • “Grand Jeté (The Great Leap)”, Rachel Swirsky (Subterranean Summer ’14)

Continue reading 2015 World Fantasy Awards Ballot

The Locus Award Winners

Winners of the Locus Award have been announced. To see the short list, go to the Locus site:


  • Ancillary Sword, Ann Leckie (Orbit US; Orbit UK)


  • The Goblin Emperor, Katherine Addison (Tor)


  • The Memory Garden, Mary Rickert (Sourcebooks Landmark)


  • Half a King, Joe Abercrombie (Del Rey; Voyager UK)


  • Yesterday’s Kin, Nancy Kress (Tachyon)


  • “Tough Times All Over,” Joe Abercrombie (Rogues)


  • “The Truth About Owls,” Amal El-Mohtar (Kaleidoscope)


  • Rogues, George R.R. Martin & Gardner Dozois, ed. (Bantam; Titan)


  • Last Plane to Heaven, Jay Lake (Tor)


  • What Makes This Book So Great, Jo Walton (Tor; Corsair 2015)


  • Spectrum 21: The Best in Contemporary Fantastic Art, John Fleskes, ed. (Flesk)


  • John Picacio


  • Ellen Datlow




  • Tor